THOUGHTS ON CHANGE FOR TODAY:
How does change happen? Its not as cut and dry as I used to think it was. I used to think that if I was just told by someone that I need to change, it would happen. I used to think that all I needed was the what and why information of the change that needed to happen and evolution would inevitably follow. I’ve realized that people are more complex than that. A person can have all the information of the what, the why, and the how of what they need to change. This can lead to behavior modification, but what about inside-out type of change? What about the type of change where values are altered, where emotional wounds are healed, and where hope is purchased?

My point? It takes something deeper and more powerful than behavior modification to change a person from the inside-out.

WAYS I’VE CHANGED TODAY:
I went and saw the movie “The Pursuit of Happyness” with Will Smith. Watching this story of a man who was literally fighting for the survival of himself and his son caused me to want to help people experience healing and hope. My desire for those things has increased. I also had a conversation with a friend of mine visiting from California, and that conversation increased my value for creative thinking, innovation, and appreciation for uniqueness in life. I want to create, and I want to have my own voice. I’m sitting in a coffee shop right now listening to two guys try and hit on the girl working behind the counter…they are failing miserably. In the last few moments, I’ve changed my attitude towards hitting on girls behind counters. I’ve decided to be more strategic if I ever resort to doing that.

Leave a Reply

