“Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your justice like the great deep…” Ps. 36:6

So we went to Sedona, AZ today. It’s amazing to me that only an hour and a half from where I live (which is pure desert and a couple hills, by the way) is a garden of incredibly astounding and breathtaking red rock titans that explode up from the ground. We hiked about 4 miles around “Airport Mesa,” which the locals call one of the great “Vortexes” of the earth. A vortex is a new agey term for a point on the earth where the earth’s energy explodes from and the life of the earth makes everything around it more beautiful.

Supposedly, when the earth farts out earth energy, mountains are formed. We saw a couple hippies on the trail… earthy folk coming back from their morning mediation (I’m not making fun, I’m making observation). I got chilly and wished I would have brought my hoodie, but it was alllll goooood.

For me looking at those mountains and rock formations, I was overwhelmed with a sense of wonder. Can science really explain some of this stuff?

Wow. That’s really all that I have to say about that. I don’t want to try and spiritualize anything today… and so lose the majestic wonder I am experiencing.

I believe that in order for transformation to occur in a person’s life, they must at some point encounter this emotion: a sense of wonder. Maybe I’ll write a blog about that one soon.

Leave a Reply

