I went out to the bars with my friend from high school, Mike. We went to a couple bars in Aggieville, kind of the “college strip” in Manhattan, and saw a couple people, finally ending up at the Cat’s Lounge, out back sitting on couches. We were hanging out with my brother, when a guy who knew him walked over and sat down by us. I could tell he was already decently drunk, stumbling over words, and having a good time.

We had a few laughs, and got to know each other pretty well, and for some reason the topic of conversation came up of how many girls each person had had sex with. When it came to be my turn, I told everyone zero. They were astounded.

“Are you serious???!!” The guy looked at me as if there was something wrong with me.

“Yep. Never even put myself in that kind of a situation.”

It was at that point in the conversation where I knew it was about to get more serious that he wanted it to. I didn’t want to be condemning or have an air of arrogance about it, so I stuck to my guns in a respectable way.

“What are you a church boy? Your brother told me your a church boy.” He begin pestering me. “don’t you believe in Mary Magdalene? Jesus was banging the sh** out of her all the time! He was getting action left and right!”

At this point in the conversation I was faced with a choice of whether to chuckle along with him, and not say anything, or to stand up for everything I stood for. He kept going.

“Yeah man, Jesus was getting laid every night! Haven’t you ever read the DaVinci Code?”

At that point, I looked at him right in the eyes. I didn’t really know what to say. I didn’t have any arguments against what he was saying, and I knew that nothing I said would matter because he was just joking around. But within me somehting told me that he needed to know the seriousness of what he was saying.

“You know, I’d be careful what I say if I were you, because that is deeply offensive to me.” All of a sudden, his face changed. He set down his beer and looked at me as if he was about to punch my lights out. But he didn’t.

“Hey man, I’m sorry, I’ll stop. I didn’t know that was offensive to you. I respect that.”

And that was that. That’s the kind of person I want to be…someone who stands for what they believe, and doesn’t let people walk on them.

One thought on “

  1. wait…are you telling me Mary M wasn’t doing it with Jesus???…I thought Dan Brown was an eye witness?Oh well….Just kidding man. Glad to see your blogging. come visit me over in the other hallway sometime. -j

Leave a Reply

