Its been raining in the desert for the last three weeks. I love it, maybe because it reminds me of Kansas. Its actually been humid outside for a change! Good thing too: I woke up this morning and went out to get in my car to go to worship gathering this morning at our church, and there was ceran wrap and ketchup all over my car! I took my car through the car wash, which didn’t do a whole lot of good. Luckly it rained… washed off some of the ketchup. I think it was the interns… if I find out, I’ll tell them to not bother coming in the office next week. Ha! It’s always good to get pranked every now and then: for one, you get to get revenge, and also it shows that people care about you.

Fall is always a time of transitions. When I was younger it was the time to go and buy school supplies, get your class schedule and compare it with your friends to see if you have the same classes. Its a time of entering into new stages of life… whether its a new grade in school, a new semester at college, or a new set of faces at church… people back from vacation and excited to see what church has to offer.

Its no different for me either… its a time of transitions, of taking on more responsibilities, and taking adulthood seriously. Last night I watched Barry Bonds hit his 755th home run, tying Hank Aaron for the record. I thought to myself–it’d be hard to concern yourself with the game of baseball when you’re so focused on hitting that last home run for the all time record. Even if a good solid double would bring in the winning runs, why not go for the bleachers? Right now is a time in my life where I need to concern myself with “the game of baseball” more than any personal achievements or accomplishments. Its time to be intentional about focusing on the things that matter… and not getting caught up in personal desires.

For me that means keeping in mind the purpose of why I’m doing what I do… the purpose of changed lives, and the purpose of changing the world.

Leave a Reply

