When I draw this fleeting breath,
When my eyes will close in death,
When I rise to worlds unknown,
and behold Thee on Thy throne,
Rock of Ages cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee.

I believe that the Jesus told about in the Bible is a compelling person. So compelling that I want to be like him. I want to look, live, and love like him. I want to imitate his character, but also find my own unique expression of it. I want people to look at me, and not know where Luke Wright stops and Jesus starts… I want them to see not religion or morality, I want them to see genuine love… authentic concern for people. I want to be hidden in him.

Have you ever desired something so strongly that when you think about it in the secret, private place, you cannot help but to weep with tears that speak of that longing in a way that words will never be able to describe? Even as I write these words, tears begin to fill my eyes. I’m sitting in a coffee shop trying not to let anyone see the sudden emotion welling up inside me. Because far too often the love I attempt to show people is tainted by selfishness. Does it always have to be about me in the end?

Love is the only thing that has the power to wake up a sleeping world, to excite a bored humanity. And no one did it better than he.

That kind of love is the place where I want to hide, because it is there that no evil or selfishness or pride or addictions can find me.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

