Wow… I just saw this is my 100th post! What does a person write for their 100th blog post to celebrate their induction into blogdom?

Today was a great day off of work. Mondays are always like that for me: they go way too fast, and I get to relax all day. Today I woke up, played some Halo 3 for about 30 minutes, went to Wal-Mart to get some groceries, watched the movie “Red Eye” (which was really good), made some cheeseburger macaroni hamburger helper for lunch, and spent the afternoon lounging and reading.

I’m reading this book (called “Starving Jesus”) that is written by a guy who is really angry at the church, and rightfully so. He’s angry about the Christian church being lazy and apathetic towards the needs of the world and towards the needs of individual people. As a pastor, my first response is: why don’t you do something about it then buddy? I find it extremely easy to criticize choices and structures and methods when I am in the place where I don’t have to be the one who leads or creates them. Nevertheless, the author is right, and maybe the book is his way of doing something about it.

To tell the truth, whenever I hear people say bad things about the way the church is in America today, I cannot help but agree with them. Yet, as I agree with these voices of indignation, I condemn myself, because I work for a church! How can we make changes necessary to becoming the type of church that really loves people and doesn’t just talk about it? Does the old way of doing it have to completely die to pave the way for new processes to be created? Must we start completely anew in order to change? Or is it a matter of utilizing the way we now do things and taking that to a new level? Those are the questions that haunt me as I wrestle with the validity of my job and how it fits into the mission of Christ: to draw people that are far from God to Him.

Is the local church as it exists now, with its weekly weekend gatherings and bible studies, and groups, and brochures really the answer in redeeming a broken world?

One thought on “

  1. no it’s not. but we insist on holding onto it because if it didn’t exist … we’d have to find out what it would be like to have to fight for what we claim to believe in. goes back to the question of – would we be willing to die for this? i don’t think westerners know what that looks like … we’ve not been tested that way. ask someone in china or india what it looks like to be a part of the movement of Christ … not sure they’d describe it the same way.good thoughts … good to see you back!

Leave a Reply

