Today was a good one. Tuesdays are usually packed with meetings. Meetings where lots of ideas are thrown out, feelings are hurt, and progress is made… those are the best kind. πŸ™‚ This is what I look like right now (after hanging out with ten high school guys):

Anyway, here I sit, getting ready to finish my day off with some good solid reading and thinking time. There are somedays where at the end, I just feel… full. Like I accomplished something, like I really got a lot done. Today was one of those days. I’m satisfied with today.

Maybe it was the frappaccino this morning that I asked them to put an extra shot of espresso in. Or maybe it was the work that got done after lunch.

Tonight was “fun night” for my high school guys small group. We ate Chick-fil-e, then went to the mall. Upon arriving there, I told them they had two missions: to have a spiritual conversation with someone randomly, and to get a girl’s phone number. It was bar none the funniest thing I have seen in awhile. All of the guys in my group are big talkers, but when it comes to approaching a girl and asking for her number, they freeze!

So naturally, I had to be the one to set the example. πŸ™‚

I saw a girl across the mall that looked like she was CLEARLY close to my age. When you’re a High School pastor, you can’t just go up to girls asking for their numbers… you never know when it could be a girl from your youth group that looks five years older than she really is. So I approached this girl and the following conversation ensued:
“Excuse me, can I ask you a question?” I asked.
“Um…sure!” she smiled.
“First of all, how old are you?”
“How old do you think I am?” I couldn’t believe she pulled that one on me. I guessed low, but not too low.
“20?”
“I’m 23.” she answered.
“me too! Well hey, what I was going to ask you: I know its not typical to do this… and its kind of random, but I noticed you from across the room, and I was wondering if you would let me take your number and take you to coffee sometime.”
“Yeah! but I have a boyfriend.”
“So you’ll give me your number even though you have a boyfriend?”
“Um, I don’t think I can.”
“Well you can’t blame me for asking… after all, if you never swing the bat, you’ll never hit a home run…” then I told her and her friend to have a nice night, and walked off.

So long story short, had some meetings, ate a croissant sandwich and some great cheesecake, hung with some cool guys, had some good laughs, and got shot down by an attractive girl that was my age.

I should’ve fought harder for her number… I know she would’ve given it to me. Live and learn.

I’m going to do some reading.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

