I’m convinced that the older I get, the less life is about figuring things out than it is about embracing the wonderful mystery of God.

I say mystery, because sometimes the way He speaks and works just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. I pray for leadership, influence and success, He makes me a servant. I ask for wisdom, He reveals to me my foolishness. I seek to attain Him, only to realize all the more that I already knew Him in the first place. I try to earn his approval, only to realize that He already approves of me.

The Bible tells of a God who is unimaginably powerful, who spoke continents and galaxies into existence, who calls the stars by name, whose voice, like in Job, thunders and shakes the foundations of the earth, whose face in Revelation shines with the brilliance of a trillion candles. But yet often He chooses to speak in a whisper. In the thought that you can’t decide whether it was your own conscience or something greater. In the feeling you get when you look at the particular person. In that moment where you are listening to a song, or watching a movie, and all of a sudden something in you is unexpectedly awakened. Sometimes I’ve asked myself, “why doesn’t God just give me clarity and point me in the right direction?” Even if I didn’t have clarity, if I could just have, like Abraham, heard the voice of God tell me to “leave [my] country and go to the land that I will show you.” That would be enough for me… wouldn’t it?

But that’s where God leaves it open, just enough to require us to jump without knowing. That’s what pleases Him… when people put something on the line for the sake of their belief in Him. None of what we think impresses him does. Its faith. Period.

“and without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” Heb. 11:6

Leave a Reply

