I’m reminded today about how hesitant I am to be vulnerable to people. What to me is priceless, to those I share it with is casual. What for me is meant for one person, for someone else is just another conversation. What would it take to be totally transparent with someone? I want to know that there’s someone that I can fully trust… to trust and be trusted… and to know that I’m not just another person on their list of people that trust them, but that what is shared between I and they is secret and special.

One time Jesus, speaking about judging others, made an interesting statement. He had just finished a famous quotation about removing the plank of wood from your own eye before pointing out the sawdust in your neighbor’s eye… in other words, “don’t be a hypocrite!” And then he makes this statement that I’ve tucked away for a long time:

“Do not give to dogs what is sacred and do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they will trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces.”

What does that have to do with judgment? What is he talking about? It doesn’t seem to fit. Obviously Jesus can’t be referring to literal pearls, so what are these “pearls” ?

I think what Jesus is getting at is this: the things that are sacred to you, the morals that are sacred to you, the boundaries that are sacred to you, the wisdom that you have been given from your parents and leaders in your life, those things that you hold closely that make you who you are…

be wise about who you share them with. Be wise about when you share them. Be careful unless what is intended for good can actually destroy a relationship.

I’m the type of guy that wants to share myself with people, but I’m always afraid of being misunderstood. I know that when I percieve that someone isn’t understanding what I’m saying, I’ll start to put up wall, and not let them into the deepest parts of who I am.

I’m not sure what I’m getting at here. Just having mental diarrheah (or however you spell it). Maybe someone smart can decipher what I’m saying…

4 thoughts on “

  1. Trust is interesting, easily destroyed to some, and easily built by others. I think often until we can be “trustworthy” ourselves its hard to ask that of others. I think thats why in therapy( just speaking from what i have seen) people open up pretty quickly over a couple sessions, i know their whole life. The reason why? is because (in my opinion) I have promised them trust, one even by law that cant be broken or there is consequences. Also they need it and want it.

  2. I was just going to say, that’s got to be Holly 🙂 I bet it is. Anyways, I think you’re right, Holly or whoever. And Luke — I think I am on the other end of the spectrum (or at least used to be…am currently moving more towards the middle)…but I tend to trust people too easily, some break the trust and some don’t but for whatever reason the darkest and “secretive” things of my heart and life used to seem to come out fairly easy…And thanks for the last paragraph, Luke, hah!

Leave a comment