I’m slowing becoming more and more convinced that most people in the world would rather have security, predictability, safety, and comfort over passion, risk, change excitement, and purpose. When I say that, I’m not about to get on my high horse and pretend that I’m a part of the latter, or even pretend that one group is better than the other, I’m just stating what I’ve observed.

Its not that I blame them (us) either. There’s nothing wrong with being secure and safe. Its comfortable. You don’t have to worry about your next paycheck. You don’t have to worry about failing, because most of the time it’s the organization that takes the hit, not you personally.

It might just be a rich American thing too. I know that there are billions of people in the world who fight to make enough money to eat food for the day… if you were to ask them whether they wanted to continue living day to day in survival mode or have a secure income, food to eat everyday, we all know which they would choose.

But this conversation isn’t about surviving… its about living. Really living. And I’ve got a hunch that there’s a difference.

Can you really blame anyone for sacrificing their desires for security?

There are people who are OK with existing within an organization, under a hierarchy, with people telling them what to do, and being given tasks to perform, and doing whatever they can to get better at doing those tasks. And there is nothing wrong with that. Our world, our communities, our companies, and our churches need faithful and competent workers to continue to build the future.

What I have a problem with is the people that have an idea, a passionate dream of doing something, a burning desire or goal that’s been dormant inside of them for a long time, who refuse to act on that dream in the name of security.

In the name of a paycheck.

In the name of a promotion.

So if you’re that kind of person, go for it. Even though few may understand you and the road is paved with question marks, let the fear of a missed opportunity outweigh the fear of failure. I’ll be right there… applauding your efforts.

That’s really living. Risking. Sacrificing. Believing.

Does any of that resonate with you?

If I were to self-apply this for the world of bloggers to see: I love to write. I love ideas. I enjoy inspiring people and finding people who don’t think anyone believes in them and believing in them. I love to challenge people’s thinking in subtle ways, and to generate ideas. If I were living my dream, I would be writing articles and books and blogs that motivate people to seek God, love, hope, faith and truth and everything that is good in this world and in this culture, and that helps people to strip away the religious jargon and fascade of our age, and reveal the heart of God as specifically revealed in Christ… the heart for people that embraces them where their at and invites them to come home with Him.

I have a motivation to create something in my life: to look back and say “I was faithful with that dream.” I want to gather a community of riskers together who are committed to loving and accepting people and inviting them to share life, seeking Truth together along the way.

I have a passion for true community: not the kind that hangs out together once a week on Sunday nights, but the kind filled with people who are committed to a common-unity, to a cause that consumes the hearts of all. I want to create community everywhere I go, to meet people and get to know them, and help them with their physical needs.

3 thoughts on “

  1. I echo jrs, do it…easier said then donebut do it, i think until we fufill in some way that deep passion its always there looking us in the face, wanting us to go after it. so do it, also if not for yourself, for the countless others in this world that long for it and need it.Holly

  2. I want to encourage you– your love of community changed my life in a very positive way. Without your propensity to gather people and willingness to share your space and time, things would be much different for me personally, and I’m sure for others. God is using you to do great things, Luke!

Leave a Reply

