I’m not a historian per se. I’ve never been crazy good at remembering historical facts, names, or dates. Nevertheless, I always do fairly well in history classes because I can remember general/major chronology of events. But ask me questions about the year that something happened on a test and I’m screwed.

I started my masters degree at Fuller Seminary this week. On Mondays, I’m taking American Church History, on Wednesdays I’m talking Theology of C.S. Lewis, and tonight I have a class on the book of Revelation. With only two classes down this week, I already have almost 3000 pages of reading to do… in the next 10 weeks! I have four research papers to write, and nearly ten books to read in their entirety. There goes my life for awhile!

I’m grateful for the opportunity to immerse myself in studies, becuase for one, I love it, and also it provides a necessary distraction from all the crap that swirls through my head when I’m sitting around. Its also been exciting to read about the life of C.S., and about the early settlers that came over to the New World from England and Holland. Hard for me to imagine what life would have been like back then… always having to worry about surviving, having enough food to eat, and being prepared for the grueling winter.

Found out that I’m going to the Holy Lands this fall with Southeast Christian Church’s college ministry team… I have to somehow raise $3200 for the trip. I’m also excited that Zach Anderson might be going with me. We’re going to spend a couple days in Jerusalem, and in the regions surrounding the Sea of Galilee. Its something I’ve always wanted to do, and through a couple random emails, I got connected with this group from Kentucky that is going. Call it a ‘pilgrimage’ of sorts. I think every Christian should someday plan to make this trip… kind of like the Muslims do to Mecca.

Anyway… I should probably head into work. Its great that there is a Starbucks right on my way to Chang’s in the mornings, and its even greater that you can get FREE WIFI now @ Starbucks. All you need is a gift card activiated through Starbucks.com’s website and your set. Class tonight, work all day tomorrow and Saturday, thousands of pages of reading…God is good.

Leave a comment