There’s a part of me that’s always needed to introduce change in my life on a constant basis.  I feel like I’m dying unless something is changing or unless I am making progress… transforming into a better man, experiencing new adventures.  I’ve always been like that.  As a kid I was definitely the explorer type.  My buddies and I found unending joy in riding bikes around the city of Manhattan, KS, finding new places to explore, office buildings to sneak into and pretend we belonged, forests to get lost in, and secret hidden neighborhoods.

I’ve lost some of that, I think.

Maybe its the nature of the suburbs… sameness everywhere I go… I’m not really sure what the reason was or why it happened, but I feel that I’ve allowed that sense for adventure to fall dormant.

It seems like there are a lot of people who have given up their sense of adventure for lesser, cheaper forms of entertainment.  Entertainment is no substitute for adventure.  Its the quick-fix for deeper longings.  Whenever I substitute entertainment for adventure, my adventurous sense is numbed and it begins to become hard to tell the difference between the two.

You see, there’s a deep part of me that knows that to live without risk is to risk not living… and that if I am not taking any risks or putting myself out in places where the chance for failure is immanent, I’m not really living.

I’ve forgotten how to love life because I’ve started to hold onto it too tightly.

I’m learning to let go… and starting the adventure of risking again.  Whose coming with me?

Leave a Reply

